This time next year tag


As the end of the year approaches, I have been focusing a lot on everything I have done in the past year. 2016 has been hectic: I completed my A levels, started university and moved away from my parents, made actual plans for what I want to do with the rest of my life and finally pieced together some kind of social life.

But it’s also important to focus on the future, as well as the past. I haven’t been tagged to do this post but it was created by  http://alittlereadersblog.wordpress.com/  and I wanted to complete it for my own sake, to put into perspective what I want to achieve in 2017.

 

  • Gain more confidence academically

 Despite studying 2 essay based subjects at uni, I have very little confidence writing essays. This time next year I will just have finished my first term of my second year of university. By then I want to have learned how to effectively plan and research for essays, and write clearly and concisely.

 

  • Figure out what to do with my life

 This year has been the year of wanting to become a teacher. The year before was the year of wanting to become a surgeon. It is fair to say that my plans change quickly! But I’m proud to say I proactively throw myself in to anything, and will soon be starting a teaching placement. By the end of this I hope to have decided if teaching is really for me, so that this time next year I will know if it is something I want to pursue, or whether I want to look in to something else entirely.

 

  • Get a tattoo/piercing

 I have wanted a tattoo for longer than I can remember, and I have finally (pretty much definitely) settled on a quote from my favourite poem that I would be happy to live with on my skin for the rest of my life. However, as a possible prospective teacher I have to be aware of the fact that I can probably never get any visible tattoos, so I am unsure of whether I want to go ahead and get one. I have also wanted a nose or lip piercing for years, but have always been prevented from getting one due to my job. In 2017, I hope to go through with this and finally get a piercing as I have plenty of time outside of uni.

 

  • Save money

 I really want to be able to live independently once I have finished uni, rather than moving back in with my parents to a town that I hope not to return to. To do this I will need the money available to rent a place in the city that I want to live. I will save the money I do not need from my maintenance loan in to a separate savings account so I can hopefully move out for good in the next few years.

 

  • Go dairy free

 A few months in to 2017 will mark my first vegetarian anniversary. I became vegetarian due to my ethical disagreement with how domesticated animals are treated during their short lives. Although I don’t know whether I could ever commit to becoming fully vegan (ethically I want to, practically I don’t know how it would work), I do want to cut out dairy. Dairy cows are treated just as badly as other livestock animals so although they don’t get killed, I am still uncomfortable supporting the dairy industry. In 2017 I hope to switch to a milk alternative.

 

And that’s all! I can’t wait to look back on this post at a later date and see if I have achieved any of these things (hopefully I will). Although this post will probably go up just after New Year’s Day, happy new year everyone! I think we are all hoping that 2017 will be better than 2016.

xo

Leave a Reply

